This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Estonia

Estonia is made up of 15 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Estonia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Estonia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Estonia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Estonia

There are 15 regions in Estonia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Estonia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Harjumaa Harjumaa1.555,566Tallinn Tallinn394,024
Hiiumaa Hiiumaa2.10,275Kardla Kärdla3,763
Ida-Virumaa Ida-Virumaa3.173,514Johvi Jõhvi11,469
Jaervamaa Järvamaa4.38,142Paide Paide9,735
Jogevamaa Jõgevamaa5.37,546Jogeva Jõgeva6,396
Laeaene Läänemaa6.23,810Haapsalu Haapsalu11,805
Laeaene-Virumaa Lääne-Virumaa7.66,409Rakvere Rakvere16,736
Paernumaa Pärnumaa8.81,428Parnu Pärnu44,192
Polvamaa Põlvamaa9.31,730Polva Põlva6,504
Raplamaa Raplamaa10.37,100Rapla Rapla5,684
Saare Saaremaa11.35,275Kuressaare Kuressaare14,921
Tartu Tartumaa12.150,139Tartu Tartu101,092
Valgamaa Valgamaa13.34,789Valga Valga13,945
Viljandimaa Viljandimaa14.56,498Viljandi Viljandi20,309
Vorumaa Võrumaa15.38,687Voru Võru14,631